Back to All Events

Russel Walder with the NZSO

  • Shed 6 TSB Bank Auditorium Wellington New Zealand (map)


Hamish McKeich Conductor
Russel Walder Oboe

Tchaikovsky/Ellington  The Nutcracker Suite (Selection) 
John Luther Adams  Become River (New Zealand premiere)
Milhaud Saudades do Brasil, Op. 67 (Selection)
Derek Bermel Canzonas Americanas: Mvts. 1-3  (New Zealand premiere)
Russel Walder arr. Psathas Untitled new work (World premiere)

The finale of the 2019 Shed Series presents a programme of light, relaxing music to entertain as we head towards the end of the year. 

Grammy Award and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer John Luther Adams’Become River is a beautiful and meditative piece of music inspired by the natural world and is part of a trilogy of works including Become Ocean and Become Desert

Derek Bermel’s Canzonas Americanas conjures up the North American continent with elements of Native American blues, rock, funk and other inspirations, including American music giant Aaron Copland.

French composer Darius Milhaud will take the audience to Brazil with Saudades do Brasil, a mesmerising musical journey through the sights and sounds of Rio de Janeiro.

Oboist Russel Walder joins the NZSO to perform three of his own works specially arranged for oboe and orchestra by John Psathas. These pieces are inspired by the concepts of meditation and self-awakening and audiences can expect a mesmerising, otherworldly live performance.

Jeff Tyzik’s arrangement of The Nutcracker Suite, by Duke Ellington and long time collaborator Billy Strayhorn, will have 
you snapping your fingers to the beat of this much-loved jazz interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker.

Russell main.jpg